Posted in Book Reviews

Besieged (The Iron Druid Chronicles 0.3, 4.7, 8.6) by Kevin Hearne

Thank you to Netgalley, Kevin Hearne and Random House Publishing for allowing me to read Besieged in exchange for an honest review.

besiegedI am a huge fan of the Iron Druid series.

It has a satisfying blend of adventure, quirky characters, humour, mythology, wit and drama.

For those of you who haven’t read this series, the Iron Druid Chronicles is a hilarious, action-packed urban fantasy set in a modern world in which all the gods of every pantheon are alive and well. The central character to this series is a 2,000-year-old Irishman/Druid, Atticus O’Sullivan.

Besieged is a collection of short stories involving the main characters of the aforementioned series. Atticus gets the most coverage but Granuaile, Owen, Perun (God of Thunder) and others also get a chance to play a central role in their own stories. The stories cover around 1,300 years of history and provide more in-depth background information about the main characters. As you progress through the stories, they become more current and set the stage for the upcoming conclusion of the series, Scourged.

Here’s a brief summary of the stories:

The Eye of Horus – Atticus is visited by the Morrigan and sent on a mission to the Library of Alexandria, where he experiences a life altering event.

Goddess at the Crossroads – Atticus describes how he met a drunken Shakespeare and saved his life, thereby altering Western literature due to events experienced on that night.

The Demon Barker of Wheat Street – Atticus and Granuaile visit her old home town and run into a host of demons, parading as carnival people, luring in unsuspecting humans to feed off.

Gold Dust Druid – Gold rush era San Francisco suffers biblical consequences. Summoning demons rarely goes to plan.

The Bogeyman of Boora Bog – Druids don’t always make good neighbours. Owen meets a young Atticus in olden day Ireland.

Cuddle Dungeon – Warning – adult content. Gods get up to mischief. (That’s all I’m saying).

Blood Pudding – It’s Granuaile’s time to shine in this story. Vampires can’t be trusted and it’s up to her and some thick-necked mercenaries to teach some Polish vampires a lesson that they won’t soon forget.

Hunted to Devils – Owen’s new apprentices team up with Owen and Atticus to try and prevent the extinction of Tasmanian devils. Mayhem follows.

The End of Idylls – The Morrigan visits Atticus to let him know that the end is approaching. Loki is making his move and Lucifer’s his new best friend. Fun time is over and he has “The Talk” with Oberon.

Products from



The stories are imaginatively written and vary in location and time periods, featuring a variety of supernatural beings.  Examples of these are werewolves and other shape changers, vampires, ghouls, demons, witches, gods and more with lots of magic, adventure, danger, and mayhem (blood and guts, etc.).

I’m sad that the Iron Druid Chronicles will be coming to an end soon. I’ve gotten quite attached to some of the characters. Do yourself a favour and read the series first, then the short stories in Besieged will make more sense. I have thoroughly enjoyed this series and I hope that you will too.

This book earns an outrageously witty

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Enter Captcha *